The Pier 6 building is the oldest structure on Toronto’s Central Waterfront.
Built in 1907 at the foot of Bay Street as a simple freight shed leased by a ferry company, it became property of the newly formed Toronto Harbour Commissioners in 1911.
In 1926, due to a changing shoreline, caused by waterfront development, the building had to be relocated. It was sawed in half, the south portion was floated over to the foot of York Street where the Toronto Harbour Commissioners used it as a storage shed for the next two decades. In 1953, it was leased to the Royal Canadian Yatch Club and served as its “city station” until 1979.
Inside, you can treat yourself to a Beaver Tail or a Moozoo smoothie or gelato…highly recommend all!!!
Because of its unique status as the oldest structure still on the waterfront, the building avoided demolition in the early 1980s, although it had to be relocated yet again, a few meters west to make room for developments on York Quay. Then in 1988, it was moved to its current location at the front of York Street, where it served as a waterfront information centre for several years.
Over its lifespan the building has also been a water gauge used to measure lake levels, a storage house for stage props, a vehicle garage, an office, a restaurant and a cafe. It has survived several relocations, vandalism and a fire in 1918 that destroyed an adjacent ferry terminal. It is the only remaining example of Toronto’s waterfront architecture from the turn of the 20th century.
The Toronto Harbour Commissioners became the Toronto Port Authority on June 8th 1999, under the Canada Marine Act.